Entry requirements

+++Covid-19 tests or quarantine are no longer necessary for a total of 29 countries in Europe when entering Austria: Belgium, Germany, Denmark (including the Faeroe Islands), Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Ireland, Cyprus, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City, United Kingdom (Source: Ministry for European and International Affairs)

+++ When entering the country from these 32 risk countries or areas, Austrian, EU and EEA citizens as well as Swiss nationals must carry a health certificate (with a negative PCR test) or must undergo a PCR test within 48 hours of entry: Albania, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Egypt, Ecuador, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kosovo, Croatia, Mexico, Montenegro, Nigeria, Northern Macedonia, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russia, Sweden, Senegal, Serbia, South Africa, Turkey, Ukraine, USA. There is also a partial travel warning for the Chinese province of Hubei and a partial travel warning for mainland Spain and the balearic islands. (Source: Ministry for European and International Affairs)

Non-EU, EEA or Swiss nationals from third countries are still subject to an entry ban, unless they come from the Schengen area and can present a negative PCR test not older than 72 hours. After entry, these persons must also undergo a ten-day quarantine. (Source: standard.at)

Entry by land

Entry by air

  • Since mid-June Austrian Airlines, Air France, Emirates and many other airlines have again started regular scheduled operations from Vienna. Since mid-June, AUA has again served over 20 destinations throughout Europe, and is successively adding further destinations to its route network. Information on the current AUA flight schedule can be found here
  • The ban on scheduled passenger flights landing in Austria has been lifted.
  • Citizens of third countries are not permitted to travel to Austria by air from outside the Schengen area. Details on exemptions can be found here: Ministry of the Interior (German)
  • PCR-test at Vienna Airport: Vienna Airport offers passengers the possibility to undergo molecular-biological COVID-19 testing (PCR test) directly on site at the airport starting on Monday 4 May 2020. Further information can be found at  www.viennaairport.com/pcrtest

+++ Visa applications suspended: The Austrian embassies and consulates around the world are currently not issuing any visas. Further information can be found on the website of the Federal Ministry Republic of Austria – European and International Affairs: https://www.bmeia.gv.at/en/travel-stay/entry-and-residence-in-austria/entrance-and-residence/

+++ Current travel information from the EU Commission can be found on Re-open EU

Teilen, bewerten und Feedback
Rate this article
Recommend article

Please complete all the mandatory fields marked with *.
The data and email addresses you provide will not be saved or used for other purposes.

Feedback to the vienna.info editorial team

Please complete all the mandatory fields marked with *.

Title *